Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Question on tile sets and stairs  (Read 648 times)

DwarfUli

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Question on tile sets and stairs
« on: September 18, 2021, 06:32:09 pm »

Hello,

I am new to DF and have been using the most recent Vettlingr tile set. I really love the way it looks but somebody warned me that tile sets can cause problems and don't always display correctly?
Is this correct? I tried playing the ASCII and I actually found it quite beautiful, and somewhat mesmerizing, will it perform better than using tile sets?

Also, do dwarves tire faster going up and down stairs? I am making a fortress with 8+ layers and when I see them haul things 8 floors, I wonder if this creates negative thoughts or tires them faster?
It doesn't seem to bother them.

One last question; when I break the last block to get into a water source or lava, will the dwarf drown/get burned? Do I have to break that last tile in a certain way?

Thank you so much,
Uli

Thisfox

• Bay Watcher
  • Vixen.
    • View Profile
Re: Question on tile sets and stairs
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2021, 07:29:30 pm »

It's all a matter of opinion. I find tile sets ugly, and my imagination can fill in the blanks, so I prefer the ASCII. Others are less imaginative. I'm told that there is a slight performance advantage in the case of FPS death. I almost never have FPS death of my fortress.... I wonder if that's related?

Dwarves tire the same amount going any number of steps to the north, south, east, west, or up or down. I often have very vertical fortresses. They're little machines, these dorfs! They can even roll wheelbarrows up and down the fortress stairs. That said, make sure there is enough staircase for everyone to get past each other. A 2x2 staircase stack is needed at the very least, and larger is better.