Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: EV Owners and Interested Parties Thread  (Read 1575 times)

McTraveller

• Bay Watcher
  • This text isn't very personal.
    • View Profile
EV Owners and Interested Parties Thread
« on: October 06, 2022, 08:57:35 pm »

So my shiny new EV is actually now scheduled for delivery in a few more weeks*.

I'm curious if there are any others here that have made the transition to full EV.  Figure if so, we have a thread to discuss impressions, impact on life, etc.

For example, both my mother and my mother-in-law are skeptical of full electric.

I'm tempted to take the EV on the pending Thanksgiving trip.  Would be interesting - it could very well be snowing that time of year on the route.  It's 210 miles one way; my EV sticker range is 274 miles, but I have no real-world experience yet to know if it's conservative like the gasoline stickers, especially given EVs do better in stop-and-go than on highway.

There's a fast charging station 100 miles from my home on the route we'd take, but not really anything at the destination (although maps I've seen indicate there are a few L2 stations close to where we're staying, so I could potentially top it up a little).  So I'm thinking it might be worth a stop 100 miles in, then if I don't do much incidental driving while at the destination, I should have the 220 miles I'd need to get back to the fast charging station to top up for the 100 miles home.

I'd like to hear if anyone else has done a similar trip.  I'm not worried about taking a 45 minute break to recover 100 or 200 miles; I'll have my wife and 2 kids in the car, so that's like nothing to stop for food and restroom.  How busy are charge stations? Stuff like that...

Spoiler: * (click to show/hide)
Spoiler: ** (click to show/hide)

Rolan7

• Bay Watcher
  • [GUE'VESA][BONECARN]
    • View Profile