Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Conspiracy or something else?  (Read 619 times)

KeepDigging

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Conspiracy or something else?
« on: February 27, 2023, 08:37:24 am »

Hi everyone! New to Dwarf Fortress and the forum but have known of the game’s existence for years. I started playing since the Steam release and I’m very glad I did! However, I’ve run into a situation of sorts and would appreciate any input.

Here's some context: Now my volcano fortress is 20 years old in the year 170 (4th restart). I started in a reclusive manner, with nothing open to outsiders, training my military and building up defenses. The military which by now consist of around 30 dwarfs, all legendary and in steel, most have named their weapons and shield. The population is around 210 (capped) with most being very happy (++ in the left smiley).  I’ve captured a Hydra and a Roc (which have been trained and serve as a last resort in my kill box/tunnel), dug out 7 levels of diamond-encrusted obsidian walls in the bottom cave, slain some emerging monsters and acquired numerous high value gems and around 8 divine pieces (gifts from the gods). Haven’t found the rare metal though and the circus remains untouched. These and all the created artifacts are behind vertical bars in several locations. By now I’ve created around 4mil in wealth. After every deal the human and dwarf caravans leave ecstatic.

Around the year 163 things were going very well but I thought I could handle some FUN, so I decided to raze a Goblin fort which was successful. Soon afterwards I started receiving parlay requests and the subsequent small sieges. Around this time the king moved in.