Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sunletters - Legends from a Newb  (Read 547 times)

Marukay

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Sunletters - Legends from a Newb
« on: August 07, 2023, 03:53:52 pm »

Hi everybody. So I just finished the tutorial in Dwarf Fortress Steam Edition and am still playing with that very first fortress. I spent a lot of time in the wiki pages also, and when reading about the Fun I eventually came to this section of the forums. I am new to this, but I love the story that just happened and the idea of keeping to share the tales from Sunletters here appeals to me very much.

So let's get started!

What happened is that in the Mid-Winter of Year 104, a fire breathing dragon comes by. The siege on my fortress takes a couple of weeks and I can't believe it survived. I've spent hours piecing together how exactly that came to be! Follow me into that tale from Sunletters Fortress...

Salmeuk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Sunletters - Legends from a Newb
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2023, 11:27:00 am »

that was metal af

Doused in boiling steel and iron, he is later found molten.

so was Lorbam's axe made of iron or steel? how many died to the dragon, in the end?

RIP the war dogs, but it was inevitable.

Marukay

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2023, 12:20:50 pm »

that was metal af
Thank you!  :)

Doused in boiling steel and iron, he is later found molten.

The part is actually taken from the battle logs. The entrance hall was build around my trading depot and I believe there was still a bit of stuff standing around on it when the dragon rushed in. I wasn't actually aware of owning anything made of steel at the time. XD

Lorbam's axe is an exceptional iron battle axe.

how many died to the dragon, in the end?