Dwarf Fortress > DF General Discussion

Dwarf Fortress 50.11 - New player, 320 hours, first impressions

(1/5) > >>

lofty:
Hi. I'm new to Dwarf Fortress.

I jumped in a couple of weeks ago, opting to skip the in-game tutorial and simply ask my friends questions if I hit any snags because we often hang out in voicechat together. I figured a combination of game experience from titles like Minecraft, Starcraft, Command & Conquer, etc would probably prep me with most of the basics I needed to play the game and overall that seemed to be a good foundation from which to understand Dwarf Fortress at a topdown level.

I binged the game for 2 or 3 weeks straight to the detriment of everything else and wanted to share how that went with the devteam. I hope this forum is the right place to do that.

The gameplay experience:
My first two or three maps were short-lived, not because of any particular danger or tragedy, but because I was learning the controls with my friends backseating my gameplay, and I wanted to check out my options for different types of embark sites. I dug some holes, planted a handful of crops, abandoned some forts, and had several chances to laugh at the world generator's constant feed of goblins striking down dragons. After that, I started up a new world to see how far I could get.

Fort 01
Spoiler (click to show/hide)My first actual attempt at a fort landed in a desert biome.

A river bisected the map, and I opted to tunnel along the inside of the gorge that the waterfall had carved out  to secure the entrance to my fort. For the entirety of this playthrough I missed out on caravan wagons - I figured it was simply a bug that I was getting a notification about caravans bypassing my site because they were still showing up with camels anyway.