Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Dwarven Nursery?  (Read 4621 times)

VeryBadThingsDownHere

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dwarven Nursery?
« on: July 21, 2008, 12:47:29 am »

[TL;DR: Add a place to keep babies and a labor task to take care of them]

Ok, I like to think I'm a pretty reasonable manager of Dwarven affairs here at Standardteachers;  wealth is high, dwarves are happy, workshops are being workshopped.  Pretty much everyone does what I say, trusting my judgement.  Sometimes I screw up, but only out of carelessness,  (Sorry Kadol, we'll get your remains out of that magma channel one of these days) but I've been pondering this little hypothetical situation for quite a while now.

Before I get down to it though, let me set the background.  My military started as a couple of marksdwarves [carefully] assigned to clean carp from the small river going through the area.  They were doing a good job - but what was really strange is they were Elite Marksdwarves in practically a year, just from shootin carp - and a little spywork shows that they've been shooting at some messed-up invulnerable or something carps at the edge of our territory for quite a while.  And they're getting experience from it!  I guess it makes sense though, considering they're doing what they would do at an archery range.

Anyway.  So I got these elite marksdwarves, and I don't need em shooting at glitched fishies no more, so I take em off duty and start broadening my militaristic options.  A couple dozen broken necks later and I got three hammerdwarves and three sworddwarves sparring away in the barracks.