Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Games I made a long time ago  (Read 2281 times)

lumin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Games I made a long time ago
« on: March 30, 2008, 02:48:00 pm »

After reading Toady's post about Dragslay - an old BASIC game he made quite a while ago, it reminded me of a few games I made myself many years ago in QBASIC.  I put them on a Geocities hosted site a long time ago and forgot about them, but I just found the link (can't believe it's still hosted!)

I called them 'Flysoft Games' because my last name is 'Flynn'.  It was a lot of fun making them, but I never got very many people to play them.  I haven't done any stand-alone apps since college (CS degree) and I am now a PHP web programmer for a local broadband company.

Anyway, here they are:
http://geocities.com/flysoftgames/

Dragon Bane is the only one that comes with the qbasic source code (ran out of memory before I could turn it into an executable) so you'll just have to run it in the compiler.  The others are stand-alone.

(I know the site sucks, I've come a long way since then in web design!)

EDIT:

K, here they are hosted on a MediaFire:

The Arrival
Catacomb
Vertical Horizon
Dragon Bane

Descriptions (in order of creation)

The Arrival:

This was my first game I ever made.  You just shoot the never-ending alien horde and rack up points.  It's just a precursor to Dragon Bane though.

Dragon Bane

Took me ages to write (I did all my graphics pixel by pixel in BASIC).  I guess I was a little too ambitious since it turned out to be pretty buggy/difficult in the end.  If you can get past the bugs, it IS beatable (though no-one has done it before).  There are 20 "screens" you have to get through before a fight with a sweet looking dragon at the end.

Vertical Horizon: