Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Boltlulled: A story in the making (??)  (Read 1759 times)

lunephile

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Boltlulled: A story in the making (??)
« on: March 04, 2016, 09:34:06 pm »

Hi.
First time poster, but I've been playing DF for about 5-6 years. I have never come across this before:

I generally tend to make vanilla worlds, with very little modification. Only above average savagery, a large world, and usually start off very early on. What sick whim of Armok gave rise to a civilization of Dwarfkind right in the middle of an evil Biome?

So just as explication - this isn't a colony I built. This is, in fact, an original mountainhome, five years into the history of the world.
It's funny, but this specific Mountainhome is kinda growing on me. IMHO these little guys are the hardiest of hard-drinking dwarves - they weren't sent to Boltlulled by some mad king, or to quietly finish off a grudge, they were MADE here, in one of the cruelest jokes I've seen. And at the same time - the story potential here is for some reason huge. These are dwarfs who pushed up to the surface of a world that to them must seem hell - writhing tentacles pushing their way across the hilltops and some kind of dread rain...
I figure, if Boltlulled and its people can survive long enough to push their way out of this awful valley, then they will truly be the Spartans of Minbaznir, The Enchanted Land

I have already started an Adventure Mode Dwarf, just to see how this kingdom will survive, and hopefully share it along with anyone that's interested...
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 09:41:02 pm by lunephile »

lunephile

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Boltlulled: A story in the making (??)
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 05:37:01 pm »

Boltlulled: Prologue

"Eturlimulon, usitholugzolgeth sham osalimgeth samam!
Gethvushubalon locunim siknug duralgur