Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 15

Author Topic: Dwarves can fail  (Read 42023 times)

mickel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dwarves can fail
« on: February 01, 2009, 05:22:14 pm »

At the moment dwarves can take more or less time to do something and they can do it more or less well, but they never seem to actually fail. No matter how inept a dwarf is he always manages to successfully build a bridge, carve gems, craft armor or tunnel through sand. All of these things and many more that the dwarves do routinely without any skill at all are things that are very complicated to do in real life. I think dwarves should be able to fail.

Depending on the skill of the dwarf, failure is more or less frequent and can be more or less severe. A complete beginner failing at cutting a gem will probably ruin it, but perhaps an expert might be able to salvage the situation and do something else with it, such as producing an inferior quality gem?

What failure means to a miner should be rather obvious. Cavein, outburst or something equally bad. All the more reason to reserve the sand tunneling and coal mining for the experts.
I>What happens in Nefekvucar stays in Nefekvucar.

Savok

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarves can fail
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 06:04:24 pm »

Toady never does a half-assed job. Not even as little as an assed job or a doubly-assed job.

Wait.
So sayeth the Wiki Loremaster!

PTTG??

• Bay Watcher
  • Kringrus! Babak crulurg tingra!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nowherepublishing.com
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 06:42:53 pm »

I've long thought the same. I think I heard Toady One say he didn't like the idea... possibly because it would be annoying to have your last Soththingotherite gem get smashed by the RNG... though I feel that any new way to fail in DF is a good one.