Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Java Project: Help with Objects and Files Needed  (Read 1446 times)

Frelock

• Bay Watcher
  • Dabbling Philosopher
    • View Profile
Java Project: Help with Objects and Files Needed
« on: February 26, 2009, 06:14:46 pm »

I'm pretty much so a complete beginner when it comes to programming.  I've taken two classes on programming in the java language, and have a decent grasp on the ideas behind object-oriented programming.  Beyond the simplest of applications, however, I'm somewhat at a loss.  I need your help, Bay12 programmers.

Spoiler: The Project (click to show/hide)

The main question I currently have is: how do I save objects of a class in a permanent format (such as a file)?  How can I read said file and import objects from it?  How can I change said file without re-creating it?  Any help directly from you would be appreciated.  Pointing out some helpful (read: easy to understand with minimal background) tutorials or walk-throughs online would be awesome too.

Also, if you have any tips on implementation of the program, or anything in my description that you think could use some working on, I would be happy to have you point it out.  New ideas for the project could help too.  Eventually, I'd like to wrap it up in an .exe file, but that's a long way off (not to mention impossible for me with my current programming experience).
All generalizations are false....including this one.

Jamuk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Java Project: Help with Objects and Files Needed
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 08:05:24 pm »

http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/essential/io/
You should really use google, I found it in a couple minutes.  But, yeah, that should have more than enough info for you.  If you need more just search for it.  The APIs are free, and everyone can see them.