Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: First Cavern? Any ideas?  (Read 1977 times)

TheCobblestoner

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
First Cavern? Any ideas?
« on: September 18, 2016, 05:13:24 pm »

So, I just discovered a pretty big cavern, and I'm a bit of a newbie to Fortress mode. I explored it a bit (not with dwarves, with the camera) and I saw a mangled Giant Cave Spider corpse.. should I be worried? Also, how should I explore it/block it off/whatever else I should do?

wierd

• Bay Watcher
  • I like to eat small children.
    • View Profile
Re: First Cavern? Any ideas?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 05:15:44 pm »

depends on what mangled the GCS...

If you dont have military dwarves yet, seal the breach with a wall.

Z49000

• Bay Watcher
  • [HERETIC]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2016, 05:49:20 pm »

Drop a cat, a cheese-maker or some expendable fort member down there to scout out the local caves, beware of giant olms, cave crocs and giant bats, get as much steel, bronze, iron or copper gear for your soldiers, separate the cavern area from your fort with a drawbridge and most importantly, make sure to line the hallway to the cavern entrance with a metric crap-ton of traps.

Or alternatively, just block the cave off until you feel ready.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2016, 08:40:52 pm by Z49000 »
"Science isn't about why. Science is about WHY NOT?"- Cave Johnson, Portal 2

Libash_Thunderhead

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2016, 06:56:33 pm »

Maybe a blind cave ogre or troll killed it, or it just slippped and fell from the wall, or a lucky dwarf punch it in the face. You can check the game log for any spider raleted message.

King Kitteh

• Bay Watcher
  • [SAVAGE][CRAZED]
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2016, 07:32:54 pm »