Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Author Topic: ☺░▒▒▓D Or holy crap there's a goblin on my keyboard! g Or in other words ASCII  (Read 22887 times)

Creamcorn

• Bay Watcher
  • [FANCIFUL]
    • View Profile

A little SS

Let me start off by saying that I didn't grow up on ASCII, instead I grew up to love it.  How this oh so wonderful addiction to depicting dragons, elves or dwarfs with a simple character developed was by my simple act of downloading a game called ADOM.

I started playing ADOM at, oh... the age of nine.  And while I continued to dive deeper into the dungeons of ADOM, doing so made my mind become fascinated with the idea of how a 'W' could represent a shadow wyrm; the fascination only deepened when I read the detailed descriptions given to me by examining the creatures of ADOM.

In short my fascination with ASCII is not necessarily the elitism [sarcasm]of knowing that my mind is more imaginative than most people[/sarcasm].  It is that most or all that is given to me in ASCII games develops as I progress along.

And even though it's just ASCII I've yet to see a machine represent images of anything better than a human's mind or perhaps any other creature for that matter. 

If ASCII does give way to what most people term as real graphics, than I hope that there is at least some hope for middle ground to ASCII lovers.
"OH NO! That carp is gulping at me menacingly, even though it cannot really threaten me from here on land!  I KNOW! I'll dodge into the water, where I'll be safe!"

Alexhans

• Bay Watcher
  • This is toodamn shortto write something meaningful
    • View Profile
    • Osteopatia y Neurotonia

And you should note that ADOM is one of the most static roguelikes... A lot of things are ALWAYS the same...

DF is just Incredible... It's world creating algorithms are FAN TAS TIC.