Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Missing aquifer  (Read 1038 times)

tfaal

• Bay Watcher
  • 'Ello, 'ello!
    • View Profile
Missing aquifer
« on: June 04, 2009, 02:56:46 pm »

Hi. I've been playing Dwarf Fortress off-and-on for a few months now, and today I decided that I wanted to start a flashier fort than the ones I had made previously, with a well, some more traps, fancy wind powered screw-pumps, and perhaps a waterfall. I picked a site with two biomes, one a mountain, one a red sand desert with an aquifer. After I embarked, I started digging my well immediately, like so:
Code: [Select]
####X_####
####X_####
####X_####
####X_####
##########
#=ground, X=stairs, _=channel
I hit the bottom of the desert biome without striking water. Figuring I had simply misread the biome screen, I tried to dig my well in the mountain biome; no dice. I'm in a bit of a bind now, as the aquifer was my only source of water, and while dwarves can subsist on alcohol alone, one cannot make a waterfall with booze. Any idea what I'm doing wrong here?
I still think that the whole fortress should be flooded with magma the moment you try dividing by zero.
This could be a handy way of teaching preschool children mathematics.

Samus1111111

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Missing aquifer
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2009, 03:29:05 pm »

an aquifer is not an entire level of water, but a level that is riddled with "rivers". The only way I know of finding it is to just dig a bunch of up/down stairs until they get flooded. (just don't flood your fortress :P)

Hyndis

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2009, 03:42:00 pm »

Yup, known issue. Sometimes aquifers will simply not show up, particularly in deserts of if you've only got a single tile of that biome in your embark area.