Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The Tale of Ingish  (Read 3036 times)

Org

• Bay Watcher
  • Daring Hero
    • View Profile
The Tale of Ingish
« on: June 29, 2009, 01:57:16 pm »

Note, that this is my first try at creative writing, so it may be bad. Also that this is only part one of the Tale.

The Tale of Ingish

...Herein lies the lost tale of the dwarf Ingish. A legend, some say. Just a story old father dwarves tell their little children. But to others, Ingish was a hero. Here begins his travels to the Great Mountain, leading to a quest that only he foresaw...

...Ingish continued, even though his feet were blistered and scratched. His leather boots were worn through, but even that could not stop him. He had long since run out of food and water, but that would not stop him. Deadly beasts and scheming villains dared attack him, but none could stop Ingish. His sword cut and hew and flayed them all, his wrath none could stay. The elements burned and chilled, but not even that could stop him. For Ingish was headed for the oldest mountain home, Ironclashed, deep within the Wild Lands, to retrieve that which was lost.

He could see it now, in the distance. The mountain peaked in the horizon, and joy leapt to his heart. Years, he had waited for this single moment. His goal was so close, Ingish could feel it. None of the old legends could deter him from what he sought, not the traps that could skewer many a goblin, nor the Legendary Beasts, not even the legends of the Depths. For long his goal seemed unobtainable, but Ingish’s fate was not to die in the hands of his goblin captors, nor to die in the stomach of Camodus the Incinerator, as he had thought. But those are for a different story.