Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: What does openGL do for DF?  (Read 2635 times)

tehstefan

• Bay Watcher
  • R.I.P Bro. You were too good for this place
    • View Profile
What does openGL do for DF?
« on: July 06, 2009, 01:00:40 pm »

Now, I may sound completely illiterate, but thats mianly because I'm new to this whole thing. So, I've heard lots of stuff about open Gl, but I have no idea what that is, or how it affects DF. I've read stuff on it, but that hasn't helped any. So if anyone would oblige in explaining to the technologically illiterate, that would be great.
I suspect you've never tried doing many illegal things yet in your game. The second the CCS knows you're "active", they'll come down on you like the hammer of God.

Karlito

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: What does openGL do for DF?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 01:08:09 pm »

In a nutshell, openGL does all the graphics rendering for DF.
This sentence contains exactly threee erors.

Eidalac

• Bay Watcher
  • Ecchi Inside
    • View Profile
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 01:22:51 pm »

Don't have time to look it up, but IIRC, openGL is short for open Graphics Library, and is a standardized set of I/O libraries for graphics.

In other words, it's one of the standard sets of code you use to make the stuff on the PC show up right on the screen.

The current work on the 40d# stuff for DF is a revision of the old code that was just working way to slow.  Toady opened up the display code for others to look at and rev up, as he's still wanting to focus on more core gameplay issues, but the previous issues from the display code was causing enough trouble for enough people to start to become an issue with playing/testing the game itself.