Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Request: A Nomadic Civ  (Read 1794 times)

Archaalen

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Request: A Nomadic Civ
« on: July 11, 2009, 11:59:00 am »

Hello, peoples.  I am new to DF, but I have been lurking about the site for a few days now and I have a suggestion I would like to make.  I think it would be cool if there was a civ of horse-riding nomads who lived on the plains areas of the world.  I am thinking of something along the lines of the Eurasian steppe nomads (Huns, Mongols, Turks) and/or the Plains Indians of the North American West (Sioux, Comanche, etc.).  I don't know if having an actual civ of these guys would be possible, seeing as they move around all the time, but it would at least be neat as people to meet out on the plains who could fight or trade with you.  They would survive off of herding sheep or cattle and some hunting, and have a "town" that would be the camp they made up each night that could move around the plains in a pre-determined pattern.  Their main weapon would be bows (used from horseback, obviously), so they could make a credible threat for the unprepared, but their numbers would be rather small.  Is this a good idea?  Is it implementable?  What are the thoughts of the world on this idea? 

Rowanas

• Bay Watcher
  • I must be going senile.
    • View Profile
Re: Request: A Nomadic Civ
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2009, 12:21:44 pm »

I like. It can be done, but I don't know if toady has specifically implemented this. it could easily be done by using the new code toady is writing and specifying a bunch of immigrants who pick a destination on the world and then repick a new destination the moment they get there.
I agree with Urist. Steampunk is like Darth Vader winning Holland's Next Top Model. It would be awesome but not something I'd like in this game.