Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Trying to make a game.  (Read 5270 times)

qwertyuiopas

• Bay Watcher
  • Photoshop is for elves who cannot use MSPaint.
    • View Profile
    • uristqwerty.ca, my current (barren) site.
Re: Trying to make a game.
« Reply #30 on: July 10, 2009, 04:58:28 pm »

Ugh. I lost my post.

Summary of lost data:
Switch/case statements are best for state varables, not number comparison.

Actual code, from a win32 program, poorly written:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
Eh?
Eh!

Alexhans

• Bay Watcher
  • This is toodamn shortto write something meaningful
    • View Profile
    • Osteopatia y Neurotonia
« Reply #31 on: July 10, 2009, 05:00:12 pm »

lol, qwertyuiopas...

I'm studying the win32 api and failed to mention that it's used to retrieve messages... . :P

“Eight years was awesome and I was famous and I was powerful" - George W. Bush.

termitehead

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #32 on: July 24, 2009, 02:28:29 pm »

Just my opinion, but I never use switch-case blocks. Seems like unnecessarily compicated syntax to do basicly the same thing as a string of if-else blocks. Plus if-else blocks let you use any boolean expression instead of having to use a number. I'd probably end up making a bunch if-else blocks anyway to come up with the number to feed to the switch block anyway.

Java-using seventeen-year-old here, BTW.

It's probably a good idea to do that if you only have 2-4 different branches to deal with.  Once you get to 10+ it gets silly to try to do a series of if statements in my opinion.  Especially when it is really mundane stuff where all you need is different blocks of code for different values of a variable

SolarShado

• Bay Watcher
  • Psi-Blade => Your Back
    • View Profile
« Reply #33 on: July 24, 2009, 04:48:32 pm »