Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Is it just me or are goblins tough m*******s to kill?  (Read 2413 times)

Tryble

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Is it just me or are goblins tough motherfuckers to kill?
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2010, 11:13:43 pm »

It's a normal DF behavior. That's why I've made the creatures to bleed 10-100x times more and increased the pain by 10 times. Now the combat is more brutal but more realistic (and still it takes at least two throat slashes to kill a normal guy).

Still takes at least two throat slashes?  I've never seen a goblin (or anything, really) survive a single strike that severed a major artery in the throat.  Sure, they won't bleed out immediately, but step back and wait a few steps and they'll die, sure enough.
Of course I don't go around cutting people open non-stop so I'm not an expert on the subject.

Murphy

• Bay Watcher
  • Lazy half-ass
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2010, 11:25:58 pm »

A goblin thief one-shotted my guard war elephant; shortly after, three more were made short work of by invading crossbowgoblins. In melee. Looks like if they are not tough, they are still fast.

nenjin

• Bay Watcher
  • Inscrubtable Exhortations of the Soul
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2010, 11:38:45 pm »

I think combat overall needs to be more lethal. As in, death from shock and blood loss needs to be a lot more important. Death from shock especially. If someone loses two limbs and has a two-handed sword being twisted in their guts, they should be dead from pure shock in a round or two. While the gore is funny, it kind of undercuts the value of the gore when you literally turn people into hamburger meat and it still won't stop them.
Cautivo del Milagro seamos, Penitente.
Quote from: Viktor Frankl
When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.