Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New utility : Editor for the raw files...  (Read 11226 times)

ragnarok667

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
New utility : Editor for the raw files...
« on: August 14, 2009, 07:07:34 pm »

EDIT: I shall keep a log of what has been requested and how it's going at the top of this post. This should help me keep focus and make it easier to update you guys.

Current bugs:

Current requests:
  • Open all the raw files at once instead of one at a time : required for body & attack requests.[Ragnarok667]
  • Parsing/validation of body tokens [Captain Mayday]
  • GUI creation of attack tokens [Deon]
  • Add color-coding to tokens [Deon]
  • Remove obsolete tokens in tags.ini [Deon]

Hi !

I'm rather new to DF (about 2 weeks) but thanks to the recession and the lack
of available jobs, I've been spending a lot of time playing around with this game
(both adventure and fortress) and found it quite fun.

Now, I was considering modding the game, but found a lack of actual custom
editors for the raw files (as mentioned in older threads, like : http://www.bay12games.com/forum/index.php?topic=19206.0).

So, I instead of playing some DF yesterday afternoon I decided to try and code
a little utility to handle the raw files. *This ended up taking more like 2 days than an afternoon...  ;)

Now, it doesn't have many features as I'm completely clueless about the modding
process for DF, but I've modded other games before so it can't be that different.

So, my main point is that I'd like you guys to try and see what you think,
how it can be made better. You know the drill, find bugs, interface changes
needed, support of new features and such. I'm thinking if this seems interesting
to you guys I may very well create a thread for it, but before I put any more
work on this I'd like to have some of you experienced DF modders take a look