Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: About the site finding thing...  (Read 1934 times)

Mythos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
About the site finding thing...
« on: March 21, 2010, 01:57:42 pm »

Is there any way to cycle through all the fitting locations? I'm still a noob at the game so I'm trying to find a pleasant map, with some basic parameters: medium temperature, a river, no aquifer, and either a magma pipe or a magma pool (preferably a pipe). I'd also like a good amount of trees, but you can't actually tell it to look for that. Because of that, a lot of the time the first place it finds almost always has some flaw like no trees or no possibility of iron ore. I can't see any way to show the other locations that fit the conditions I specified, I'm just stuck with looking at the first one that it finds.
So, I tediously awaited the arrival of the dwarven caravan (I'm set up on a island, see)... And, they came. My fingers tingled, my nose twitched and my toes tickled... they came around the corner, over my bridge... Into my courtyard... Onto my trade depot...

Then everything near it exploded in a cloud of blood.

SkyRender

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • Sky Render's Domain
Re: About the site finding thing...
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 02:00:47 pm »

Unfortunately, the site finder is very primitive.  You're often better off searching manually for the site you want.
Sanity is for the weak.

Mythos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2010, 02:02:07 pm »

Well, searching for a site manually is problematic in that I have no idea magma is there, unless it's a volcano which in my experience are almost always in scorching climates with no trees whatsoever.