Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: (REQ) Multi-Tree Mod  (Read 1581 times)

Viken

• Bay Watcher
  • "Fight, or Die. Easy."
    • View Profile
(REQ) Multi-Tree Mod
« on: October 29, 2009, 01:15:45 am »

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to both Dwarf Fortress and modding in general, and have no skills or knowledge of any of the common program langauges or anything.  But I do have a question, or better yet, a suggestion for a rather simple mod.  Assuming it hasn't already been done (and I missed it), or its hard-lined into the game itself:

A mod that would allows trees to drop more than 1 (one) log at a time when cut down. 

The deal is, most trees in the real world could be used and cut into several logs (or even planks), instead of just a single chunk per tree.  Not only would this allow you 'not' to have to clear-up your entire map if you need wood resources, but would dramatically increase the usefulness of wood-burners and the like when you need a type of coal for forging.  So, can it be done?
"It takes being a nerd to be a dorf, and I'm more than happy to compensate."

TheDeadlyShoe

• Bay Watcher
  • Blog not found
    • View Profile
Re: (REQ) Multi-Tree Mod
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 01:24:36 am »

No, it's hard coded.

Lord have mercy and let me not throw up in this space helmet.

Viken

• Bay Watcher
  • "Fight, or Die. Easy."
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2009, 01:26:27 am »

Well, that blows a hole in my bubble. Thanks for the straight-forward answer though.

Impaler[WrG]

• Bay Watcher
  • Khazad Project Leader
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2009, 01:44:45 am »

The only real way to mod the 'rubber hits the road' game play level is to do either new reactions or new/modified creatures and some cost adjustments, everything else is essentially decorative in nature.
Khazad the Isometric Fortress Engine