Dwarf Fortress > DF Dwarf Mode Discussion

So I made this thing (version 2 posted)

(1/4) > >>

Kinoko_Otoko:
I'm pretty new to Dwarf Fortress. I've only been as far as the first caravan arriving, and successfully trading with it. Then I realized I couldn't use magma powered stuff on my map, nor access glassworking. So I used one of the pre-generated seeds to get a map with everything. I started the new game, got as far as the first caravan again (but screwed up this time so they couldn't get in) and then realized that I had no idea how I was going to lay out my fortress anyway, so I'm restarting that particular map again.

But first, I decided to make a flowchart to help me categorize the various workshops based on the materials involved, etc.

I thought I'd share it with you guys.

Incidentally, I just realized I intended to add some notes about color coding etc. but I'm too tired/have things to do right now... I'll get to it later.

Diamond:
Nice work, but it is kind of hard to understand. And too much of unnecessary things with that bins/barrels.
If would be more useful if you did industry flowcharts like in DFwiki and connected them all into One Big Ultimate Flowchart. That would be very useful to new players.

Overspeculated:
You don't need a flowchart, you just need to know what each process requires and how to get that. Bins and barrels are a given. You don't need a massive industry anyway, a single legendary will pump out items with incredible speed. For example my 200+ dwarf fortress has one magma glass furnace (+ 4 normal glass furnaces that have sand collection active) and one carpenters workshop. And I'm pretty much making all of my furniture out of glass.

Kinoko_Otoko: