Dwarf Fortress > DF Dwarf Mode Discussion

Ready for a challenge

(1/1)

ebenezer:
Hi everyone,
first of all let me introduce myself: I've been playing DF for 10 months or so, and I enjoy it immensely. It's by far the best game I've ever played, thanks to its depth and open possibilities. My only problem is that - having a 11 mo old daughter - I have very little time for playing, a couple of hours a week. I played only 4 or 5 fortresses so far, my present one is at year 5 and started on Sep 13th! This has an advantage: I THINK a lot before playing, and I really recommend it - 1 day of thinking gives you an excellent 30 min of play. And I read a lot too - Probably I have spent more time reading the wiki than playing (by the way, is it possible to have it printable as a pdf?). Sorry for the long intro, I come to the point.

My present fortress is thriving, but the site helps a lot: magma pool, river, sand, trees, you name it. I would like to start a new one that gives me more challenge, so I am asking the following:
1. what should I look for when I choose the embark site? A desert with no trees? an island in the ocean? Terrifying wilderness? stop earlier the world generation? what's an exciting mix?
2. What mod or combination of mods do you recommend to make things more interesting? I mean more civs/animals/plants/stones to add variety to the game.

This is very important for me, as I will be playing the next fortress for at least two months (well, if they survive). Please keep in mind that I don't like megaprojects, so boooring...

Armok bless you.

Jim Groovester:
A terrifying desert island out in the middle of a terrifying ocean might prove interesting. No fresh water, no wood, and skeletal whales come ashore to try to eat you.

darkflagrance:

--- Quote from: ebenezer on November 25, 2009, 05:45:30 pm ---Hi everyone,