Dwarf Fortress > DF Suggestions

Few Suggestions by a Newbie

(1/3) > >>

Lord Snow:
Lo all, i'm quite new to DF.
Thus i have encountered several problems and would like to suggest improvements:1.
When building and/or selecting workshops: add a key that directly opens a description of the workshop:
What it does, what it needs to do this, what dwarf skills are needed for a dwarf to jump into this workshop and start working.2.
Add a Center for Complaints, possibly as Job for Mayors or some other guy. This should add a List of Wishes (+ the x2, 3, whatever) to the Status/Stocks/Whatever it is Menu that opens up with z.
(i.e. dwarves are running low on shoes or there are no more leather armors for new recruits...)3.
If there are multiple Tables lined up, and one has a dining room assigned: copy the room for all tables within range, but display it as ONE dining room/meeting hall/whatever. Same for Sculpture Gardens, Barracks...4.
Add set-construction for Cl. (trousers, 2x boots, 2x gloves, vest, hood, cloak, mittens, shirt)5.
Auto-Clear Stockpiles of anything that doesn't belong in there. I'm fed up with my Gemcutter running over the whole map twice to fetch just one rough gem, cut it, repeat because my gem stockpile is cluttered with rocks. I even set rock stockpiles close to Masonry and Craftworkshops, but my dwarves keep picking up the stones closest to the shops, NOT those that fill up piles they dont belong into.6.
There is a Record Keeper. Please make him record unemployed dwarves and the time they spent without job. This would make it easier for people to determine wether a dwarf that has no job doesnt ever get to work or just ran out of wood a second ago.
Alternative: Keep records about when which dwarf came into the fort - and add a way to sort dwarves by how long they've been here.
It's hell to sit at the border and try to filter all immigrating dwarves to make them do something useful.7.
(this is possibly included in the developement sheet in a way)