Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Some questions: Bow + armors function, backpack, movement delay?  (Read 1828 times)

meketreff

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

Hi. I just began to try adv mode and got some q's. I'm also new in DF overall, I did my best to learn it in the past weeks.

How is the relation of bows and armors? [For exemple, is it possible to be as efficient with a bow with just leather armor and with a plate if you train the skill? Maybe it just extend till chainmail? What about shields?]

Can we usually fight at distance with a bow and change to melee? Any way to have a shortcut for that?

About backpack, is weight an issue? Or how many itens can we carry? I once found this probably assalted caravan stuff on the ground, many things but after I got them I noticed my character was slow and it seemed he got hungry/thirsty faster. But on another ocasion I found speed to be normal so I got confused.

Also, about ADV mode generally, is there a bit of lag/delay to button holding movement? Its always like that for me, in the way that when I release the button it is still following early move commands. Btw, lag isnt an issue in Fortress Mode (unless from pet explosion, sure).

Any hint about a good way to make some bucks in the beggining (for me to buy arrows)? In my first try I got this quest to kill the giant and went after him; I used my bow against it (I used all the points in bow proficency) and I was just scratching him after many many shots. Same thing against the giant rat there. How tough are they really or how weak is a skill still with all the avalalible start points in it?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2010, 12:34:48 am by meketreff »

Argonnek

• Bay Watcher
  • Surging Forward
    • View Profile
Re: Some questions: Bow + armors function, backpack, movement delay?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2010, 01:07:31 am »