Other Projects > Play With Your Buddies

conflict meps remake - what do you think about it?

(1/3) > >>

marco_fera:
Greetings,
I'm new to this great forum, I've just found it.
I'm the developer of a remake of "Conflict: MEPS", I saw an entire thread about the original, and I also saw some of you found my remake.
I've tried to look for reviews and impressions on my version on the web with no luck; now, I didn't expect to be reviewed on gamespot but I really need some opinions because it's impossible to judge my own work, and since I'm working on a new project it would be great to know what you liked and what you didn't.
You can download the game at
http://www.filefront.com/13537306/Conflict-M.E.P.S./
Ciao
Marco

Servant Corps:
Bridge over Troubled Water? I played it a bit, and am planning an AAR/Let's Play on it soon.

I think it's a decent remake, and am okay with it, but it took me some time to get it to work. I have made some suggestions on your blog a while back, but I don't expect much.

Others may have different views though on this issue.

Some random thoughts:

I must admit though that I never bothered actually waging a war in Bridge Over Troubled Water, because I didn't really understand and liked the combat system, so I guess that might be a problem. Instead, I just used the tried and true method of using Mossad to kill everything.

The thing I liked the most though was the data that you give the player. In regular Conflict: MEPS, you are left guessing what's going on, while in this game, you are granted a lot of information.

There is really no penalty for abandoning Palestine other than Israel being paralyzed for a turn. In regular MEPS, giving up Palestine gives more troops to Syria and Egypt, two Arab rivals that you have to kill anyway. But in your game, that penalty really wouldn't work since your goal is not to destroy Arab states, but just to survive until elections.

Speaking of which, it's such a shame the game ends after elections.