Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Adventuring styles  (Read 1474 times)

xczxc

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Adventuring styles
« on: March 27, 2010, 08:44:45 pm »

How do you guys play adventure mode, you start and embark on a quest right away, train your skills, wander around, etc?

I recently started playing adventure mode and it's really awesome, so i wanted to know different styles.

DeMasked

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Adventuring styles
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 09:16:12 pm »

I run around and fight off things as a human. I'll look for places like goblin towers and caves in order to pick up the junk laying around. If I'm lucky one of the goblins is dead and I'll take his armor and weapons. Sell everything I find in a human town and buy a spare shortsword as an emergency weapon. Then I'll go cave exploring and run around till I get stronger.
DF's initial learning curve is more like a learning cliff, essentially the game shoves you off and expects you learn how to fly before you hit the ground.

Acanthus117

• Bay Watcher
  • Angry Writer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 09:18:40 pm »

I always train my skills first.
Is apparently a Lizardman. ಠ_ಠ
YOU DOUBLE PENIS
"The pessimist is either always right or pleasantly surprised; he cherishes that which is good because he knows it cannot last."

Renault

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2010, 12:18:38 am »

Find a town at night, steal everything I can, and leave before they perforate my throat. Then, flee to the nearest country, grab as many followers as possible, and start my raids on the dark towers, dungeons, whatever we come across.

MTGorilla

• Bay Watcher
  • Professor! Lava! Hot!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2010, 08:37:18 am »