Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 357

Author Topic: 0.31. MODDERS WORKSHOP (NEWCOMERS WELCOME!)  (Read 399699 times)

SirHoneyBadger

• Bay Watcher
  • Beware those who would keep knowledge from you.
    • View Profile
0.31. MODDERS WORKSHOP (NEWCOMERS WELCOME!)
« on: April 09, 2010, 10:15:04 pm »

This is a thread to explore and develope modding--and modder skills--starting with the basics, under the new 0.31.+ version of DF.

Everyone is welcome to ask questions (please do!), and to contribue to the answers. I'm new to 0.31.+ just like everyone else, so I'll be learning along with you.

The primary idea here is to come up with a kind of beginner modder's workshop, as well as some kind of decipherable lessons on different facets of modding, that I/we can then present to the community at large, as a reference for anyone wanting to get into modding DF, and then moving into more advanced studies.

Secondarily, I/we'll be creating a reference databank for the modding tools themselves, with easy-to-follow instructions on how to use and modify each field and item in the RAWs.
Along with this, time and interest allowing, I/we'll be developing a basic and general, but more robust, mod, to go along with this workshop, the goal of which will be to expand creatures, reactions, and items, only so far as to give us a more complete, balanced, and well-rounded--but still very Vanilla-like, experience.

In other words: a heavily explained and documented, not-too-ambitious modding project, that should serve to introduce/familiarize basic concepts, while circumstantially filling in some gaps.

The focus will be on working with, and helping potential modders, learn the skills they need to be successful. The goal is to make modding DF as straightforward and easy to learn an experience as is possible.