Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Idea for a trap  (Read 3455 times)

Genkora

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Idea for a trap
« on: July 05, 2010, 04:43:13 pm »

So I have this crazy idea for a trap.  Assuming you were in a freezing biome, or a cold one in winter, you could make a room which floods full of water, underground so it doesn't freeze, and then have a bunch of floor hatches up above which open up, revealing the water to the air and freezing it.  You could have your own goblin or elf popsicles!  Of course, it is untested.  I'm not sure if the floor hatches would stop the water from freezing, as I have very little experience with those areas.  Does anyone think/know if this would work?

Jim Groovester

• Bay Watcher
  • 1P
    • View Profile
Re: Idea for a trap
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2010, 04:50:26 pm »

I guess you're not familiar with the Degrinchinator.
I understood nothing, contributed nothing, but still got to win, so good game everybody else.

Urist Imiknorris

• Bay Watcher
  • In the flesh, on the phone and in your account...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2010, 04:54:41 pm »

It has been suggested before, and the main issue with your design is that hatches do not prevent water from freezing. However, flowing magma on the z-level below will keep water liquid. Basically, operate it as a normal drowning trap with a layer of 6.5/7 magma below it. Enemies walk through, you flood the room, then you remove the magma from below. The water freezes, put the magma back, pump out room, claim goblinite.
Quote from: LordSlowpoke
I don't know how it works. It does.
Quote from: Jim Groovester
YOU CANT NOT HAVE SUSPECTS IN A GAME OF MAFIA

ITS THE WHOLE POINT OF THE GAME
Quote from: Cheeetar
If Tiruin redirected the lynch, then this means that, and... the Illuminati! Of course!

Genkora

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile