Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New to dwarf fortress (need input and an answer)  (Read 8949 times)

Jelle

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
New to dwarf fortress (need input and an answer)
« on: June 20, 2010, 12:13:43 pm »

Hi!

So as the title says I'm totally new to dwarf fortress, but I'm loving it so far. My first two fortresses were more or less a failure (I think I had a tantrum spiral is what you guys call it  :-\) but my third fortress is starting to function.
Still learning what everything does and how everything works etc. I'm just curious how my fortress looks to you wise old dwarves in here.

Here's a pic of my entrance/farm http://nl.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2upy3jk&s=6
Growing mostly plump helmets but dabbling in some other crops, mostly pig tail stuff.

Here's the main crafting area  http://nl.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=v46j6h&s=6
Got most of my food processing running here, mostly brewing and cooking and dabbling a bit in the soap making. Got a weaver and clothier up and running. Also lots of metalworking but I'm still looking for magma fuel since I don't have enough wood (lazy woodcutter).

And here's the dwarven houses http://nl.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2iv1qht&s=6
Just begun my project of cleaning the place up by removing all the rocks and making an all silver floor and electrum wall (got lots of both). Digging out more as the immigrants arrive.

Anyways, the problems I keep running into is my dwarves are often very thirsty and hungry, yet my food stockpiles are overflowing. All my dwarves are beginning to get sluggish while I have like ten barrles of dwarven rum waiting to be consumed. Anyone know why they aren't just getting their food from the stockpile (upper left on the second pic)?

P.S. Yes I like symmetry

LucasUP

• Bay Watcher
  • Devout Cheeseist
    • View Profile
Re: New to dwarf fortress (need input and an answer)