Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problem with farming...  (Read 2683 times)

Talfryn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Problem with farming...
« on: May 20, 2010, 06:14:08 pm »

So I get my nice farm set up on some soil inside, and I go and click q over it. It tells me, real friendly, that there are "No seeds available for this location" when I have 20 plump helmet spawns sitting in the next room? Is this just me being a total newb, or what am I missing?

Quietust

• Bay Watcher
  • Does not suffer fools gladly
    • View Profile
    • QMT Productions
Re: Problem with farming...
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 06:16:44 pm »

In the current version, all underground farms require irrigation, whether they're on soil or stone. Supposedly, this is a bug.
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.
It's amazing how dwarves can make a stack of bones completely waterproof and magmaproof.
It's amazing how they can make an entire floodgate out of the bones of 2 cats.

Talfryn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 06:21:54 pm »

In the current version, all underground farms require irrigation, whether they're on soil or stone. Supposedly, this is a bug.

Fun. At least I found this out quickly. What is the easiest way to irrigate my farm? Also, I am using May Green's tileset, so the default doesn't show water depth.

opsneakie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2010, 06:30:00 pm »

This is not a bug. I don't have the exact quote or anything, but I believe irrigation is somewhere in the raws now.

The best way to irrigate underground farms is to dig out a plot next to a murky pool, then punch a hole into the pool from the side closest to the farm. This will muddy a big patch of ground, and then you can just seal up the hole and the pool will eventually refill as it rains.

Collosal bronze man