Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Which graphics pack to use, and how?  (Read 37762 times)

wilbefast

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
    • My blog: "where there's a will, be fast"
Which graphics pack to use, and how?
« on: June 09, 2010, 06:36:26 am »

:o Noob here,

This is my third attempt to get into Dwarf Fortress. This time round I've got myself the 0.31.05 version for Linux running on my Ubuntu 10.02 64bit (a few 32bit libraries later). I figured I'd get a graphics pack though, because the game is complicated enough without worrying about what that 'g' represents, and why it just made my 'c' disappear.
Trouble is there's a whole bunch of graphics packs to choose from, and I'm at a total loss as to which to use. Could somebody give me a few pros and cons? Which, for example, is the most complete?

Also "Stonesense" looks cool, but I have no idea how to run it on Linux: I can't seem to track down an appropriate executable. As for the other, "normal", graphics packs, I can't find any resources explaining how to install them. Phobos' pack helpfully suggests I "patch" (what? with what?) but that's about it. I figure you copy "raw" into "raw" and then you fiddle with "init.txt" until you break the game. Then you reinstall the game and repeat until giving up and post on a forum instead  ::)

Help would be much appreciated!

William

yarr

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Which graphics pack to use, and how?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 07:46:18 am »

http://mayday.w.staszic.waw.pl/df.php

This is pretty much the standard graphics pack everyone is using (because it's great) :)

OK, there is another one floating on this forum, IIRC it was a thread in the modding forum, which also looks good, but I forgot the name.

Ironhand

• Bay Watcher
  • the llama is laughing
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 10:24:11 am »