Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]

Author Topic: Embark Strategies  (Read 15871 times)

Shurhaian

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Embark Strategies
« Reply #75 on: April 13, 2010, 12:48:22 pm »

I'm not really good at putting a whole build together, but some general points:

-Starting with a layer of soil means quick and easy excavation of initial stockpiles and living area, and also means there's no need to worry about stone cluttering it.
-Keep the anvil - it's cheap, and is one of few things that can't be made from scratch.
-Take at least one pick. Even if you intend to smith tools, that initial start on mining is a major boon.
-Drop at least one battle-axe. It's probably better to make your woodcutter an axedwarf than to try to find room for skills on two separate dwarves.

Probably won't be able to do too much actual tinkering to come up with more anytime soon - desktop computer seems to be dying(either memory or motherboard or both having Issues) and my laptop was marginal with 40d##, never mind 31.x.
Working on: drakes - making the skies(mostly) a bit more varied

My guards need something better to do than make my nobles happy with hugs and justice.

jokermatt999

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #76 on: April 14, 2010, 08:38:54 pm »

For those of you who forge your own weapons, what do your other dwarves do while you set about forging? I always find my miners are the limiting factor on what I do for the first season or two. I set my farmers, mason (for a few days) and leader to gathering plants til I get some stone, then I build a mason's workshop and make a chair for the leader to start managing jobs and bookkeeping. The farmers remain gathering plants til I get a farm, the carpenter/axedwarf cuts down trees or makes beds, the mason makes tables and chairs, leader manages/bookkeeps and the miners dig deeper.

Marconius

• Bay Watcher