Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Poll

How important is writing to you?

I'd like to become a professional writer in the next decade.
- 7 (29.2%)
Less than videogames.
- 6 (25%)
I am a professional writer.
- 3 (12.5%)
More than my health.
- 2 (8.3%)
I'm not sure.
- 5 (20.8%)
More than videogames.
- 0 (0%)
Not at all.
- 1 (4.2%)

Total Members Voted: 24

Voting closed: April 23, 2012, 11:42:36 pm

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 38

Author Topic: Bay12 Writers Guild  (Read 56097 times)

Supermikhail

• Bay Watcher
  • The Dwarf Of Steel
    • View Profile
Bay12 Writers Guild
« on: August 11, 2010, 04:58:01 am »

Writing Prompt Contest

<...>One of the things I credit the most with improving my writing is the writing prompt--a word or phrase someone else comes up with, and about which you write a few hundred words over the course of 15 or 20 minutes. It's a great way to practice, since it gets you outside your comfort zone, and it would give this thread more of a purpose beyond just advertising.

Also, it's much, much easier, in my experience, to accept negative criticism on something you've banged out in 20 minutes, as opposed to something you've poured your soul into, and it's an important step to realize that the critics aren't always wrong.<...>

I'd suggest the following as more-like-guidelines:
1. Keep responses to about 500-750 words.
2. Don't agonize over them. Hammer out something quick; you can always refine it and expand it later.
3. Don't be afraid to tell other people which parts you don't like. We have rule #2 so that we can appreciate bluntness in criticism.

FOR THE FIRST TIME IN HISTORY OF BAY12 WRITERS GUILD! ANYONE CAN PARTICIPATE! A WRITING COMPETION! A SINGLE PHRASE! 500 WORDS TO VICTORY!

Current Prompt: N/A. Post your suggestions in the thread.

So, this is the idea: