Advanced search  

Author Topic: Coal?  (Read 1422 times)

Pukako

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Coal?
« on: March 04, 2011, 09:34:59 pm »

So... has ANYONE found coal in 19?

If so, please share how to find, as I haven't found any, anywhere, in over a dozen worlds.

About half my current world has one mineral or less, add another half with no/very few trees (yes, they do overlap), and the chances of developing a mining/smelting industry are so slight as to be annoying...

Because DF players are heavily into pain.

JacenHanLovesLegos

• Bay Watcher
  • A medium-sized creature prone to great ambition.
    • View Profile
Re: Coal?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 09:52:57 pm »

Find magma. Then burn trees for steel.
As it turns out, the pen was in fact a poor choice for melee combat in comparison to the sword.
So I just started playing this game and I accidentally nuked the moon.

gtmattz

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:BEARD]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 09:58:44 pm »

I have spent many hours embarking in various places, and have yet to find any sign of lignite or coal.  I am not sure what is going on, but maybe toady pulled it to ensure some amount of rarity of resources to promote trading.
Quote from: Hyndis
Just try it! Its not like you die IRL if Urist McMiner falls into magma.

Shandra

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 10:05:48 pm »

I have spent many hours embarking in various places, and have yet to find any sign of lignite or coal.

At least not on my own embark sides - but I had a few maps where my parent civ had access to lignite or bit.coal ... so it must be somewhere in those worlds... But as I am always embarking on a side with a volcano + woodland - I just need that - coal for trade and enough trees to support me during the early days of my fortress.