Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Addicted to Hermits!  (Read 2846 times)

Arbitrax

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Addicted to Hermits!
« on: September 14, 2010, 04:26:41 pm »

Hi all,

Having tried the hermit challenge for the first time last week, I have to say I am thoroughly hooked!  The pure isolation of it is fantastic, and great for coming up with architecture plans for larger forts (In this current case, just a solid gold pyramid, nothing too fancy).

However, I have a rather obscure question.

How important are the "Soul" attributes to a hermit?  I have noticed that my chap is surrounded by stone and refuses to dump any more.  Is this a byproduct of his willpower?

Here's his character, pretty good for a hermit I reckon:

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Also, does anyone want to share what they get up to in their 1-dwarf wonders?  At the moment, I'm seeing if I can get enough power going to hoik magma up 100 z-levels. I want to find a more creative way of disposing of cats, brats and diplomats than the standard atom smasher.  It's fun, but it lacks a certain...finesse.

Il Palazzo

• Bay Watcher
  • And lo, the Dude did abide. And it was good.
    • View Profile
Re: Addicted to Hermits!
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 04:30:48 pm »

You ought not to feed him so much McKittenBurgers! Look how fat he is, no wonder he can't get any work done.

Alternatively, rename him SuperSizeHermit and carve a McDonalds out of microcline.

Arbitrax

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2010, 04:42:39 pm »

Try the new McUrist!  Double magma grilled for that authentic mountain flavour!  Bada-ba ba baaa...

In other news:

Pyramid Phase 1 complete: The migrants have flattened the entire embark and dumped the stone under the atom smasher, under which their own atoms were duly smashed.  Now to dig down for gold and magma!