Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Unexpected Fun - Military Self-Implosion  (Read 1446 times)

Qracle

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Unexpected Fun - Military Self-Implosion
« on: December 28, 2010, 12:57:38 pm »

As a long time player of pre 2010 Dwarf fort, I recently started playing around with the new version, and god destroyed quite easily in the Evil/Haunted/Savage lands that I was used to embarking in.  So I decided to send a group of dwarfs to a mirthful area, so I could practice getting a military up and running with the new system. 

My 75 dwarf fortress was coming along well, with 45 dwarfs in the military, and a fully stocked danger room, and excellent equipment for everyone.

The dwarven caravan came, and this coincided with an ambush.  I ordered my entire 5 squads of military to attack the bow-goblins, expecting some moderate losses.

I selected the rectangle, and hit enter.

The merchants dispatched the goblins without even the time for my first troop to exit the fort.

Then, my squads of marksdwarves began firing on the general populace.  No warning, no tantrum, all of them ecstatic.  The rest of the squads began attacking the caravan guards, and lost nearly half their numbers to the foreign dwarves.

Then the military started butchering itself.  Marksdwarves were riddling the remainder of my military with *steel bolts* and my axedwarves were lopping off my hammerdwarves arms, legs and lower torsos.

A quick check on the offending dwarves, still extremely happy, took joy in slaughter, witnessed death etc.

At the end of the implosion, 2 marksdwarves remained, each missing at least 2 limbs.

This, is what dwarf fortress is all about  :D

Eagle_eye

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Unexpected Fun - Military Self-Implosion
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 01:00:09 pm »

sounds like a loyalty cascade...

CapnUrist

• Bay Watcher