Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How can I find a location with lots of FUN and not so much stone?  (Read 1401 times)

lollius

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

Hi

I never played a fortress more then 1 hour.My problem is,I want to have everything nice and clean but always find myself surrounded with stones(Yeah I know how to dump em but nevertheles....)

I always embark on evil biomes(evil/untamed wilds if possible)
But the problem is.....SKELETON MOUNTAIN GOATS.They always come in tribes of 4-7 and destroy everything.
Why doesnt the game give me a break of 1 hour or so to prepare myself before sending me FUN.
Yeah Im a rookie but no matter what.Im addicted to evil biomes.

Okay,now my most important question*Stops crying about the evil ai whose destroying his forts*

How can I find a region with NO aquifer but A lot of sand in the upper levels and lots of stones on the levels above(Im not sure if its called sand though,I mean that material that doesnt contain anything when dug out)

Thanks for ur effort to answer me!!!!!!!!

Kogan Loloklam

• Bay Watcher
  • I'm suffering from an acute case of Hominini Terravitae Biologis. Keep your distance!
    • View Profile
Re: How can I find a location with lots of FUN and not so much stone?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2010, 11:03:02 am »

When you embark, on the screen that gives you information of the stone found in the layers. Look for one with lots of non-stones in the top lists and no aquafers. Really, don't hold your breath, since even the best will only last for a very short period. I don't recall ever seeing a situation where you don't hit hard rock after 7 Z-levels.