Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Gold BOOM!  (Read 8035 times)

Dalus

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Gold BOOM!
« on: December 04, 2010, 12:13:38 am »

Okay, so I'm kinda new to DF, but, I'm getting better!
Anyway though, I just started a new embark when I noticed something odd, there was gold near the surface. I look around, there's TONS of the stuff all around. Lots of trees for fuel right off the bat, plants to pick for outside farm while I wait till miners make enough room for the dwarfs and the underground farm... only one thing wrong, I forgot to get a farmer and brewer... Opps

abadidea

• Bay Watcher
  • [IS_8BIT_PROGRAMMER]
    • View Profile
    • 0xabad1dea
Re: Gold BOOM!
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2010, 12:22:37 am »

You can enable the farming and brewing labors on someone and they will do the work, they will just do it slowly and at minimum quality.

Sometimes I get forts with tons of iron and copper, sometimes with lots of gold and silver.... I was lucky this time and got both  :D
ABadIdea likes bandfire opal, black opal, claro opal, crystal opal, fire opal, harlequin opal, jelly opal, levin opal, pinfire opal, precious fire opal, red flash opal, white opal, and microcline for its vibrant hue.

glory in the thunder, resplendent in the sky <-- I wrote a whole novel. There will be more.

Eric Blank

• Bay Watcher
  • *Remain calm*
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2010, 12:39:19 am »

I have a fort with over 9k silver ore, just from a single 43x43 vertical shaft and some excess rooms
I make Spellcrafts!
I have no idea where anything is. I have no idea what anything does. This is not merely a madhouse designed by a madman, but a madhouse designed by many madmen, each with an intense hatred for the previous madman's unique flavour of madness.

Uristocrat

• Bay Watcher
  • Dwarven Railgunner
    • View Profile