Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Starting on an island with no other civs?  (Read 2173 times)

Javarock

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Starting on an island with no other civs?
« on: January 23, 2011, 02:41:56 pm »

Yes hello, Im new to Dwarf fortress Mode. Reacently my newest fortress has decided to embark on a small island with a stream and no aquafir!, Yet When I cheaked there were no other civs near it (Besides Dwarfs) So my question is will I get no goblin ambushs?, Or do those happen regardless of any civs near us?
“When you cut pieces out of the truth to avoid looking like a fool you end up looking like a moron instead.”
― Robin Hobb, Assassin's Apprentice

c-106mc

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Starting on an island with no other civs?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 02:44:15 pm »

You won't have visits from any civilizations other than your own. There will be no Goblin invasions or ambushes.

Javarock

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 02:45:03 pm »

So the only Fun I will get is from forgotten beasts?
“When you cut pieces out of the truth to avoid looking like a fool you end up looking like a moron instead.”

slothen

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2011, 03:31:03 pm »

So the only Fun I will get is from forgotten beasts?

Not the only fun.

You're new to dwarf fortress, so just dig deeper.
While adding magma to anything will make it dwarfy, adding the word "magma" to your post does not necessarily make it funny.
Thoughts on water
MILITARY: squad, uniform, training
"DF doesn't mold players into its image - DF merely selects those who were always ready for DF." -NW_Kohaku

Sutremaine

• Bay Watcher
  • [ETHIC:ATROCITY: PERSONAL_MATTER]
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2011, 03:43:33 pm »

You know about FBs but not the rest of the underground?