Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8

Author Topic: Let's read the EULA! VII: Pando Media Booster EULA (Short one this time)  (Read 35017 times)

Sensei

• Bay Watcher
  • Haven't tried coffee crisps.
    • View Profile

Ah, the End User License Agreement. This is that bunch of words that come up when you install a game, and you scroll to the bottom and tick the box because you don't want to spend your entire evening reading legalese in an itty bitty window. They're also notorious for being machiavellian and possibly not legally enforceable, because they aren't usually in plain English/aren't present alongside a lawyer, and are presented after you pay for a product.

Sometimes, I read them. Not that I'm a lawyer, but there can be... interesting bits.

With the ado out of the way, today I'll be going through the World of Tanks terms of service, and generally poking at the fun parts, as well as translating it into plain and simple english. If you're legally inclined I recommend you open that link, and refer to it often (or if you're curious about the parts I generalize). Lastly, let me note that if this is tl;dr to you, try skipping forward to the red bit, it's what I really made this for.

Now, I'll take it from the top:
WN TERMS OF SERVICE
These Terms of Service (“Agreement”) covers the public websites of Wargaming.Net LLP (WN/we/us/our)...
Okay, had to get that out of the way for those who are only reading the post. It says that the agreement is basically for all games hosted by WN, or Wargaming.Net- however, at this time that means only World of Tanks and WN's associated forums. The rest of this section is relatively uninteresting (introductions are), except for a couple clauses:

If you are under the age of thirteen (13), you must make sure that your parent or guardian reads and accepts this Agreement on your behalf prior to your use of the Website.
Hah.