Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Script Writing Help (And other things)  (Read 1113 times)

thatkid

• Bay Watcher
  • <Servibot> thatkid, swag percentiles: 94
    • View Profile
Script Writing Help (And other things)
« on: July 28, 2011, 05:03:18 pm »

Hey there folks,
So a friend and I recently came up with an idea for a pretty cool low budget psychological-horror movie. Since our High School (Which we've since graduated from) had a very nice TV Production program, and our circle of friends was heavily invested in it, we have access to the necessary resources and talents required to create an independent film. Granted, we only have two weeks before everyone leaves for college. But we're pretty confident we can get all the necessary filming (and anything else that people need to be physically present for) done in time.

As an aspiring author, I spend a lot of time writing. Though my skills are very unpolished, I don't think I completely suck. So after my co-writer and I get the storyboard hashed out tomorrow, the task of writing the actual script itself will fall on my shoulders. I was wondering if anyone involved in such things knew of any tips to the effect of writing good dialogue and easily-understood (directionwise) scripts? I've no theater experience, and when filming with friends before now we usually would just rely on improv as that lent itself best to our brand of comedy.

As well, does anybody know of any good programs that might ease the writing of scripts? I'm running linux, and gedit is fairly comfortable to use, but I imagine there are probably one or two programs out there specifically designed for the writing of such things.