Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DF on Mac OSX Lion?  (Read 15821 times)

AbacusWizard

• Bay Watcher
  • Trust me; I'm a mathematician.
    • View Profile
DF on Mac OSX Lion?
« on: August 02, 2011, 07:17:39 pm »

Has anyone tried running Dwarf Fortress on Mac OSX 10.7 (Lion)? If so, how well does it work? I just read that NetHack doesn't work under Lion, and this makes me wonder about other programs as well. I've been considering getting a new Mac, but I have no interest in a computer that can't run my two favorite games.

nogoodnames

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: DF on Mac OSX Lion?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 07:58:33 pm »

If the mac version doesn't work you should still be able to run the windows version with an emulator if I'm not mistaken.

I don't use a mac but that seems like a logical assumption.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2011, 08:05:35 pm by nogoodnames »
Life is, in a word, volcanoes.
                        - Random human lord

AbacusWizard

• Bay Watcher
  • Trust me; I'm a mathematician.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 08:43:42 pm »

Yeah, I've been running the Windows version via Wine on OSX 10.4.11 for quite a while. It works, but I've been hoping that when I eventually get a new Mac, I'll be able to run it native.

denito

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2011, 08:53:31 pm »

I just bought a MacBook Air with Lion on it.  I just assumed DF would work - sure hope it does.  I'll let you know how it turns out.  I've been trying to get some game code I developed Linux code to work on Lion and I read that Apple switched a GCC setting starting with Snow Leopard for how GCC handles static strings, which can crash apps that weren't written for it.  (Lovely)  Maybe that's the problem nethack has?