Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Worst embark ever?/Help?  (Read 1516 times)

Jakob

• Bay Watcher
  • !!FABULOUS!!
    • View Profile
Worst embark ever?/Help?
« on: August 17, 2011, 04:02:40 pm »

Let me start off by saying I am a noob, I can make a fortress but we always end up slaughtered by goblins or dying of thirst or starvation. I am saying this because I am not surer if this is common or not.

Anyway, my spawn location is... odd. I chose the perfect spot, right on top of where three rivers meet, deep and shallow metals, clay and deep soil, no aquifer, flux stone, heavily forested with lots of vegetation and it was warm so it would never freeze.

I spawn and instantly get 'horrifying screams come from below' or some such and googled it. I figured out it was from the circus and after looking around I saw what looks like a broken admantine vein. I assumed it was a cave in which happened a lot when I spawned and I pressed F1.

Here is where the fun begins, There is a small hill where my dwarfs are standing. Around them, the ground cuts down straight into hell. There are pools of lava everywhere and the only water is draining into hell. Can anyone tell me why the hell it is Ragnarok in my fortress? Is this normal? Should I just continue as normal?

Also, every few seconds I am told a section of the cave collapsed.

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/2210/unledlln.png
Build a replica of the Krusty Krab around the creature, then lock prisoners customers inside it so that the sponge can mutilate them take their order.

Korva

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Worst embark ever?/Help?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 04:13:29 pm »

It's a rare bug with world generation. Definitely NOT normal, and likely not surviveable. ;)

Jakob

• Bay Watcher
  • !!FABULOUS!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 04:17:22 pm »