Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dwarves drink water instead of plentiful booze. Why?  (Read 1956 times)

Elf_Basher

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Dwarves drink water instead of plentiful booze. Why?
« on: November 21, 2011, 09:36:08 pm »

Hopefully this hasn't been asked before, I wasn't able to find it with a search but I'm new to these parts and might be missing something. If that's the case, many apologies!

I've run into an odd behavior in my dwarves recently that I can't quite figure out. I currently have a surplus of booze (199 units as of now) and all my dwarves are seemingly healthy. I haven't had a siege yet and as far as I can tell from the status screen of the dwarves in question they are uninjured. By all rights these dwarves should be happily swilling alcohol, right? For some reason though I keep catching them sneaking off to the river for a drink of water.

I cannot for the life of me figure out why they would do this. The legendary dining hall my booze is stockpiled in is fully accessible to the teetotaling dwarves so that doesn't seem to be the reason. The only thing I could turn up is that one of the dwarves had a grudge with another who was currently in the single meeting hall I have designated but that was only in one case of many.

I'm beginning to worry for the sanity of my dwarves and the constant "Interupted by carp" messages are getting maddening. Can anyone think of a reason for this behavior that I might be missing? Do dining room meeting halls perhaps have a max capacity or something of that nature?

jaxler

• Bay Watcher
  • thats not a red mage...
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarves drink water instead of plentiful booze. Why?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 09:40:59 pm »

well dig down to a cave and use the water there for water sorce through  water sorce