Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Development question...? Fortress vs. Adventure  (Read 749 times)

Myrmec

• Bay Watcher
  • Playing the [z]tock market
    • View Profile
Development question...? Fortress vs. Adventure
« on: December 15, 2011, 03:47:59 pm »

Please keep in mind I am NOT COMPLAINING.  This game is free and I've spent a gazillion hours playing it.  I'm simply curious.

I've been visiting the main DF page every now and then for the past several months and I can't help but notice that a lot of time is being spent on Adventure mode, expanding features and all kinds of stuff.  I've tried playing Adventure mode a few times and it seems way more confusing to me than Fortress mode, and pointless, so I don't really bother.  The fact that there are 6x more threads on this forum for Fortress mode than Adventure mode leads me to believe that most people feel the same.

So I was just wondering if anybody knows why on earth Tarn is hustling so hard on that mode, instead of streamlining the Fortress side.  Do you think he just enjoys it more?  Change of pace?  Again, I'm not complaining, I'm just wondering why.  As far as I'm concerned Toady can do whatever the hell he wants.

Gatleos

• Bay Watcher
  • Mournhold... City of Light... City of MAGIC!
    • View Profile
    • Someone Sig This
Re: Development question...? Fortress vs. Adventure
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 04:00:08 pm »

Tarn isn't working on "Adventure Mode" or "Fortress Mode". He's working on Dwarf Fortress. The final plan is for all the different game modes to work together; the features he's working on right now just happen to be more observable in Adventure Mode. When he starts working on the latter half of this arc, the new features (like local economies) will affect Fortress Mode a lot more.