Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Resize current embark area during fortress mode  (Read 5996 times)

frankwilliams

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Resize current embark area during fortress mode
« on: January 01, 2012, 12:39:41 pm »

I made a fort a while ago that I've been working on for several months now..it's my first fort to actually get past 20 dwarves so needless to say, I set too big of an embark area, figuring that some game with ASCII art can't possibly lag too much. Now with a population if 70 I realized that was completely wrong, and even with temperature turned off I still get an FPS of 50 at best. That's tolerable but I really want to have an epic fortress with 100+ dwarves. I don't want to abandon this one because I spent a lot of time on it, and I've searched around with a lot of popular utilities (Runesmith, DFHack, etc) and none of them seem to be able to resize the current area without abandoning or anything... I have only even built in one corner of the map, and I could easily shave off a few squares of embark zone to save FPS with no loss of the stuff I've built, if I knew how.

Cydonian Monk

• Bay Watcher
  • Your robots are watching you.
    • View Profile
Re: Resize current embark area during fortress mode
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 01:01:26 pm »

What you seek is not possible.  Not even on reclaim.

keyreper

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 01:18:36 pm »

i think that is the one thing that can not be weaponized, oh ya its impossable
The anwser to life, the universe, and everything as we know it is -MAGMA-

Demetrious

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2012, 01:56:46 pm »