Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: my manager is a lazy bum - or why I don't want to assign labours any more  (Read 883 times)

fbk

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

Dear all,

when 0.42.06 came out, I started playing vanilla DF again, ie. I played without dwarf therapist. I immediately fell back to my old and awful habit of simply enabling all labours for everyone when I needed a job done. I've always done it this way, and it annoys the living hell out of me.

Today, it occurred to me that this should not be my job: I should have a noble take care of it!

It could be the manager, or a new noble, eg. a foreman.

All he has to do is inspect jobs that are pending for too long, and make sure that some dwarf has the right labour setting.
The algorithm does not need to be very good: I fully expect the guy to mess things up.

For me, this would completely remove the need for dwarf therapist, and it's the one single feature I desperately wish for.

Cheers!
A seasoned player

• Bay Watcher
  • Heresy will not be tolerated
    • View Profile
Re: my manager is a lazy bum - or why I don't want to assign labours any more
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 06:23:11 pm »

Dear all,

when 0.42.06 came out, I started playing vanilla DF again, ie. I played without dwarf therapist. I immediately fell back to my old and awful habit of simply enabling all labours for everyone when I needed a job done. I've always done it this way, and it annoys the living hell out of me.

Today, it occurred to me that this should not be my job: I should have a noble take care of it!

All he has to do is inspect jobs that are pending for too long, and make sure that some dwarf has the right labour setting.
The algorithm does not need to be very good: I fully expect the guy to mess things up.