Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Getting Fortress Mode Dragons to Haul Stuff  (Read 1718 times)

Jim Groovester

• Bay Watcher
  • 1P
    • View Profile
Getting Fortress Mode Dragons to Haul Stuff
« on: June 25, 2009, 09:41:42 pm »

So I've had this idea for a mod for a while of doing a prehistory of the DF universe, where all the megabeasts roam the earth as civilizations and fight even bigger megabeasts. I have no experience modding, and I've hit a snag.

Here's what I'm working with right now.

Spoiler: Dragon Creature Entry (click to show/hide)

I've added the [DRAGON_QUADRUPED] body part so that they can use their front claws to grasp things and not have donkeys and mules do the same.

When I embark with them in fortress mode, they're unable to haul things. For example, I set up a food stockpile, they pick up the barrels from the wagon, and then they don't know what to do with them. They mill about carrying the barrels and never set them down. This would, naturally, be an obstacle for playing them in fortress mode.

I'd like to know what I'm doing wrong.

EDIT: Bah, I guess a limb can't have both [GRASP] and [STANCE]. Is there any way to have a creature walk around on four limbs but be able to use tools with at least two of them?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 09:52:01 pm by Jim Groovester »
I understood nothing, contributed nothing, but still got to win, so good game everybody else.

Untelligent

• Bay Watcher
  • I eat flesh!
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Fortress Mode Dragons to Haul Stuff
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 10:51:01 pm »

Carry things around in their mouth?
The World Without Knifebear — A much safer world indeed.
regardless, the slime shooter will be completed, come hell or high water, which are both entirely plausible setbacks at this point.

i2amroy

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats, ruling the world one dwarf at a time
    • View Profile