Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Mounts for your Dwarves in Fortress Mode?  (Read 1678 times)

Angel71090

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Mounts for your Dwarves in Fortress Mode?
« on: December 07, 2021, 01:09:48 pm »

If you didn't guess, this thread is about exactly what it says on the tin.

Now I'm no expert in modding DF. At best, I'm a novice that has learned a few things via the wiki, looking at other modder's work and getting an understanding of the code base, and generally just doing minor edits here and there. I have no ambition or real hopes of making something big or even a small mod beyond maybe a creature or two if I get bored/go crazy/enter a strange mood at some point in the future. As such, I don't know much about how hard this particular subject is.

Thus the question and the point of the thread. As of 47, we can now have mounts in Adventure mode, which raised the question of just how hard it is to get your Fortress Mode Dorfs to get on top of their beasts and ride to war. I'm curious about this. Is it really hard, requiring a lot of work? Is it something no one has touched as Toady is probably working on it? I'm just indulging my curiosity at this point as I want to know the takes and opinions of my elders, for my beard is short and my skills are still lacking.

What say you, oh mighty Greybeards of the Modding community? How hard is this?

IndigoFenix

• Bay Watcher
  • All things die, but nothing dies forever.
    • View Profile
    • Boundworlds: A Browser-Based Multiverse Creation and Exploration Game
Re: Mounts for your Dwarves in Fortress Mode?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2021, 10:38:56 am »

Standard modding cannot do this. DFHack could, if someone made a script for it.

Angel71090

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2021, 11:42:54 am »

Standard modding cannot do this. DFHack could, if someone made a script for it.